

AWARDS & SCHOLARSHIPS

CAMWS TRAVEL AWARDS

The Classical Association of the Middle West and South sponsors Awards for primary-, middle-, and secondary-school teachers, graduate students, and undergraduates to attend CAMWS meetings.. Recipients must be members of CAMWS.

Manson A. Stewart Travel Awards

Designed primarily to assist K-12 teachers with cash awards to offset the costs of attending CAMWS meetings, including the cost of a substitute teacher. Graduate students and contingent faculty are also eligible for these awards, which are not intended to cover all costs of the travel. The size of the award varies according to the actual cost the travel will entail, the size of the committee's budget, and the number of applications. Preference will be given to individuals who have not previously received this award. Awards for travel to meetings have ranged from \$150 \$700; for travel to a Southern Section meeting, somewhat less. Applicants must be current CAMWS members.

James Ruebel Undergraduate Travel Awards

James Ruebel Undergraduate Travel Awards are also available for undergraduate students to attend the annual CAMWS meeting (not CAMWS-SS). These awards honor James Ruebel of Ball State University (and CAMWS President in 2001-2002) who was especially dedicated to undergradate education. The size of the award varies according to the actual cost the travel will entail, the size of the committee's budget, and the number of applications. Preference will be given to individuals who have not previously received this award. Applicants must be current CAMWS members.



Recipients of Manson A. Stewart Teacher Travel Awards to attend CAMWS 2020 in Birmingham, AL

Timothy Brannelly (University of Virginia) **Lisa Ellison** (East Carolina State University, NC)

Claire McGraw (Monmouth College, IL)

Athanasia Worley (Independent Scholar)

Elizabeth Deacon (University of Colorado Boulder)

Olga Faccani (University of California Santa Barbara)

Maurice Gonzales (Texas Tech University)
Luke Hagemann (Emory University, GA)

Katherine Johnson (University of Colorado Boulder)

Sinja Kuppers (Duke University, NC)

Jon Manley (Indiana University)

Andres Matlock (University of California Los Angeles)

Kayla Olson (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Aneirin Pendragon (Villanova University, PA)

Dominica Rollins (Case Western Reserve University, OH)

o: Oli (Uli ii ii to la la Dalla)

Sierra Schiano (University of Colorado Boulder)
Anastasia Temkina (University of South Florida)

Hannah VanSyckel (University of Notre Dame, IN)

Stephani Wong (Brown University, RI)

Recipients of James Ruebel Undergraduate Travel Awards to attend CAMWS 2020 in Birmingham AL

Kelsey Myers (University of Alabama)

Maxwell Shiller (Valparaiso University, IN)

Meghan O'Neill (Grand Valley State University, MI)

Helen Ruger (Columbia University, NY)

Marie Skinner (Utah State University)
Hannah Phelps (Houston Baptist University, TX)
Dalton Sala (Hillsdale College, MI)

Further information, including nomination and applicationforms, and the names of previous recipients of this award, can be found at the Stewart Award webpage: camws.org/awards/MASteach.php

