The Classical Association of the Middle West and South sponsors two Manson A. Stewart Awards for primary-, middle-, and secondary-school teachers, as well as graduate and undergraduate students.  Recipients must be members of CAMWS.

Teacher Training Awards: Designed to provide some financial assistance to those who wish to obtain certification to teach Latin at the primary through the secondary level, whether the specific courses are needed in Latin or in Education. The award is not intended to cover all costs of the training, and the size of the award varies according to the actual costs (primarily tuition and travel), the size of the committee's budget, and the number of applications. Previous awards have been as high as $2050. 

To apply for a Teacher Training award, please fill out this on-line application. The deadline for applications is January 30, 2019.

Recipients are announed at the annual CAMWS business meeting.

Travel Awards: Designed primarily to assist K-12 teachers with cash awards to offset the costs of attending CAMWS meetings, including the cost of a substitute teacher. Graduate students, contingent faculty and undergraduates preparing for a teaching career are also eligible for these awards, which are not intended to cover all costs of the travel. The size of the award varies according to the actual cost the travel will entail, the size of the committee's budget, and the number of applications. Preference will be given to individuals who have not previously received this award. Awards for travel to meetings have ranged from $150 $700; for travel to a Southern Section meeting, somewhat less. 

James Reubel Undergraduate Travel Awards are also available for undergraduate students to attend the annual CAMWS meeting.

To apply for a Travel Award, please fill out this on-line application.

Deadline for grant applications to attend the 2018 CAMWS-SS meeting in Wake Forest NC (October 18-20, 2018) is September 1, 2018.
Deadline for grant applicatons to attend the 2019 CAMWS meeting in Lincoln is January 30, 2019.

Recipients are expected to accept this award in person at the business meeting held at the conference.

For questions about these awards, please contact the chair of the Subcommmittee for the Manson A. Stewart Teacher Training and Travel Awards, at

Congratulations to the following recipient of a Manson Stewart Teacher Training Award for 2016-2017:

Laura Briscoe (St. Pius High School, Atlanta, GA) 
Michael Garcia (Westwood High School, Memphis, TN)

Congratulations to the following recipients of Manson Stewart Travel Awards to attend CAMWS 2017:

Mary E. Smith (Oldfields School, Sparks Glencoe, MD)
Melanie Zerlikovsky (Immaculate Heart High School, Oro Valley, AZ) 
Lauren Brooks (BASIS Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ) 
Alexis Whalen (Sharon High School, Sharon, MA) 
Jennifer Kindick (Cherry Creek High School, Greenwood Village, CO)
Sarah Christine Teets (University of Virginia) 
Samuel Hahn (University of Colorado, Boulder)

Previous Recipients

Promotional Flyer

Subcommittee on the Stewart Training and Travel Awards