

AWARDS & Scholarships

CAMWS TRAVEL AWARDS

The Classical Association of the Middle West and South sponsors Awards for primary-, middle-, and secondary-school teachers, graduate students, and undergraduates to attend CAMWS meetings.. Recipients must be members of CAMWS.

Manson A. Stewart Travel Awards

Designed primarily to assist K-12 teachers with cash awards to offset the costs of attending CAMWS meetings, including the cost of a substitute teacher. Graduate students and contingent faculty are also eligible for these awards, which are not intended to cover all costs of the travel. The size of the award varies according to the actual cost the travel will entail, the size of the committee's budget, and the number of applications. Preference will be given to individuals who have not previously received this award. Awards for travel to meetings have ranged from \$150 \$700; for travel to a Southern Section meeting, somewhat less. Applicants must be current CAMWS members.

James Ruebel Undergraduate Travel Awards

James Ruebel Undergraduate Travel Awards are also available for undergraduate students to attend the annual CAMWS meeting (not CAMWS-SS). These awards honor James Ruebel of Ball State University (and CAMWS President in 2001-2002) who was especially dedicated to undergradate education. The size of the award varies according to the actual cost the travel will entail, the size of the committee's budget, and the number of applications. Preference will be given to individuals who have not previously received this award. Applicants must be current CAMWS members.



Recipients of Manson A. Stewart Teacher Travel Awards to attend CAMWS 2019 in Lincoln NE

Alexander Claman (Texas Tech University) Rebecca Deitsch (Harvard University MA) Evan Dutmer (Culver Academies, IN) Tal Ish-Shalom (Columbia University NY) Anthony Parenti (University of Kentucky) Sergio Paschalis (Harvard University MA) Brett Stine (Texas Tech University) Nancy VanderVeer (Blessed Trinity Catholic High School , Roswell GA) Melissa Velpel (Texas Tech University)

Recipients of James Ruebel Undergraduate Travel Awards to attend CAMWS 2019 in Lincoln NE

Jiayan Chen (Grinnell College IA) Margaret Corn (Columbia University NY) Claire Davis (Samford University AL) Chloe Lowetz (Texas Tech University) Lauren Sides (Baylor University TX)



Further information, including nomination and application forms, and the names of previous recipients of this award, can be found at the Stewart Award webpage: <u>camws.org/awards/MASteach.php</u>