Edward Phinney Book Prize

The Classical Association of the Middle West and South has established the Edward Phinney Book Prize, to be awarded to any student receiving a perfect score (or coming closest to a perfect score) on the College Greek Exam.

After receiving his PhD from the University of California Berkeley (1963), Phinney joined the Classics department at the University of Massachusetts in 1969, where he became an important advocate for educational technology and distance learning. With Patricia Bell he was the author of the Cambridge Latin Course. He died in 1996.  

Since 2008, the College Greek Exam (CGE) has been providing a national exam for college students in Beginning Greek courses. The exam is administered in fall and spring to students enrolled in the second semester of elementary Greek. For information, reports and previous exams, visit www.dramata.com. In addition to the Phinney award, students compete for medals and ribbons. To participate in the exam, contact the Chair  of the CGE Committee.

This prize was awarded, for the first time, in 2017, to Zebediah Figura of Grinnell College in Iowa.

The members of the CGE Committee are:
Wilfred E. Major, Chair (wmajor@lsu.edu
Antonios Augoustakis (aaugoust@illinois.edu
Carolin Hahnemann (hahnemannc@kenyon.edu
Mary Pendergraft (pender@wfu.edu
Karen Rosenbecker (krosenbe@loyno.edu
Thomas J. Sienkewicz (tjsienkewicz@monmouthcollege.edu
Albert T Watanabe (awatana@lsu.edu)