CAMWS Excavation/Field School Award

The Classical Association of the Middle West and South annually awards three $2000.00 scholarships for participation in summer excavation or fieldschool at an archaeological site in the Greco-Roman world. One of these awards in named in honor of former CAMWS president Peter Knox of Case Western University. Generally, one award will be made to at least one graduate student and another to an undergraduate, but teachers at all levels of instruction are also eligible for this award. Professional archaeologists are not eligible for this award. 

To be eligible for this award, one must be a current member of CAMWS who either:

  • holds a teaching position in Greek or Latin in an elementary, secondary school or university within CAMWS territory; or
  • is enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student in a degree-granting Classics program within CAMWS territory.

Priority for the award will be given to applicants who have not had previous excavation experience in the Greco-Roman world.

This award is administered by the Subcommittee on the Excavation and Field School Award.

To apply for the award  please submit this On-line Application Form by January 30th of each year. Please note that this application requires letters of recommentation. It would be wise for applicants to discuss this with prospective recommenders early and warn them about this due date.

Recipients are encouraged to accept the award in person at the annual CAMWS business meeting and are expected to submit a written, illustrated report for the CAMWS Newsletter.

Note: An individual who wins this archaeology fieldwork award cannot also receive a Semple, Grant Award or Benario Award from CAMWS in the same year.

Please note that an individual cannot accept this award from CAMWS if he or she receives another award or scholarship for this fieldschool and the combined amount of these awards would be more than the cost of the fieldschool.

For further information, contact the chair of the Subcommittee on the Excavation and Field School Award at

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2016-2017 Excavation/Field School Award

  • Elizabeth Wilcox (Austin Peay University)*
  • Esther Knegt (Brock University)
  • Kaoru Yui (Mount Allison University) 
  • Jordan Bonadurer (Southern Illinois University at Carbondale)

*recipient of the Peter Knox Excavation/Field School Award

Due to the large number of applicants this year, the CAMWS Executive Committee authorized the awarding of an exceptional fourth award.
Additional information about these recipients. Information about their fieldwork experiences can be read here.

Previous Recipients

Promotional Flyer 

Subcommittee on the Excavation and Field School Award