The CAMWS Subcommittee for the Bolchazy Pedagogy Book Award announces an annual call for nominations for the Award. The recipient of this $500.00 award will be announced at the annual CAMWS business meeting, where the recipient is encouraged to accept the award in person. This prize has been named in memory of Ladislaus J. Bolchazy in recognition of his long career promoting classical scholarship and pedagogy. The subcommittee asks for your help in identifying distinguished works of pedagogy, including textbooks, handbooks, anthologies or other works primarily intended for the classroom in the field of classical studies (including, but not limited to, the languages, literatures, history, religions, philosophy, art, architecture, archaeology, economy, and reception of Greek and Roman antiquity) published by CAMWS members in the past three years.

Preference will be given to language-based textbooks. The author of the nominated work shall be a member of the association in good standing by September 1st in the year of the nomination. Nominations may be made by any publisher or by any member of CAMWS in good standing, including the author.


• appropriateness for the target student audience
• clarity of presentation
• excellent quality
• effective pedagogical practice and design
• potential for broad impact

Nominations of pedagogical books should be sent to the chair of the subcommittee on the Ladislaus J. Bolchazy Pedagogy Book Award at

The annual deadline for nominations for the award is September 1st. The subcommittee may, at its sole discretion, retain an unsuccessful nomination for consideration in the following year.

The winning book is announced at the annual CAMWS business meeting.

2022-23 Winner

Bartolo Natoli (Randolph-Macon College),

Angela Pitts (University of Mary Washington),

Judith P. Hallett (University of Maryland)




Previous Winners

To donate to the Bolchazy Pedagogy Book Award Fund, please go to

Promotional Flyer

Subcommittee on the Ladislaus J. Bolchazy Pedagogy Book Award