CAMWS First Book Award

The Subcommittee on the CAMWS First Book Award asks for your help in identifying distinguished first scholarly books (or digital equivalents) in the field of classical studies (including, but not limited to, the languages, literatures, history, religions, philosophy, art, architecture, archaeology, economy, and reception of Greek and Roman antiquity) published by CAMWS members in 2014, 2015, or 2016. Self-nominations are encouraged. Please note that nominated authors must be members of the Association in good standing and for at least the previous year and that CAMWS has a separate award for pedagogical books (see Bolchazy Book Award). Please send nominations, including titles and publishing information, to committee chair Andrew Faulkner by email (

The Committee will close its list for the 2016 award on September 1, 2016.

Books published after that date may be considered for the 2018 award.

The current committee's guidelines for awards include

  • excellent quality
  • wide significance within its genre
  • awareness of international trends in its field

All other factors being equal, the committee is looking for something that shifts the conversation substantially in the area covered by the book.

Recipients are encouraged to accept this award in person at the annual CAMWS business meeting.

2016 Recipients

The recipients of the 2016 First Book Prize were M. Shane Bjornlie of Claremont McKenna College for a book entitled Politics and Tradition Between Rome, Ravenna and Constantinople: A Study of Cassiodorus and the Variae, 527–554 (Cambridge University Press, 2015)        
and Jennifer L. Ferriss-Hill of the University of Miami for her book, Roman Satire and the Old Comic Tradition (Cambridge University Press, 2015)      

Subcommittee on the CAMWS Award for CAMWS First Book 

Promotional Flyer