• CJ 113.2 has now been mailed and should reach you shortly. Sorry for the delay.

Manson A. Stewart Undergraduate Award

Teachers of undergraduate students are invited to nominate their most outstanding young Classicists for the CAMWS Manson Stewart Undergraduate Award. Every year CAMWS makes $1,000.00 awards (accompanied by a one-year membership in CAMWS) to a limited number of undergraduate students majoring in Classics at the sophomore or junior level at a CAMWS college or university. Nominees are expected to take a minimum of two courses in Latin or Greek (normally at least one per quarter or semester) during the junior or senior year in which the award is made.

Students are to be nominated by a department or program; no institution may nominate more than two students per year. The individual who fills out the nomination form on behalf of the department must be an individual member of CAMWS. Each nominee must fill out an application form, write a brief essay, and submit a college or university transcript and two letters of recommendation. Those who write the two letters of recommendations do not need to be CAMWS members. Applicants will indicate on their application the academic purpose for which they intend to use this award money (e.g., tuition, books, academic travel, etc.).

Nominations must be received by January 6, 2018

If you represent a department wishing to nominate a student, you can do so by completing this on-line nomination form

Applications must be received on-line by January 30, 2018.

Please note that a student can receive this award only once.

If you have any questions, please contact the chair of the Manson A. Stewart Undergraduate Award Committee at mas@camws.org.

The recipients of this award are announced at the annual business meeting.

Recipients of the 2017 awards, in alphabetical order:

  • Isabel Cusack (University of Michigan) 
  • Daniel Hintzke (Monmouth College)
  • Jacob Sawyer (Macalester College) 
  • Michael Sloman (University of Georgia) 
  • Stephanie Wong (Loyola University Chicago)

Honorable Mention:
Samantha Breecher, University of Michigan 
Sarah Phillips, Mississippi State University

Previous Recipients

Promotional Flyer

Subcommittee on the Stewart Undergraduate Awards

Manson A. Stewart Undergraduate Awards around the Web