Semple, Grant, & Benario Travel Awards

These three awards offer graduate students and teachers of Classics (Greek, Latin, Classical Art & Archaeology and Ancient History) at the pre-collegiate (primary, secondary, or high school) level the opportunity to advance research and/or pedagogical interests abroad in Athens, Rome, or other appropriate ancient site. Award amounts cover program costs (tuition, basic room and board) as per the AAR and ASCSA summer school or other program web sites. Airfare is excluded.

The William T. Semple Award is a full fellowship for attending the summer session of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens only. (Applicants for ASCSA summer seminars should apply for the Benario Award.) This award is named in honor of William T. Semple of the University of Cincinnati.

The Mary A. Grant Award is a full fellowship for attending the summer session of the American Academy in RomeThis award is named in honor of Mary A. Grant of the University of Kansas.

The Janice and Herbert Benario Award is a fellowship that the recipient may apply to the summer travel (not fieldwork or conference) program of his or her choice. Amount is contingent upon program cost, up to $3000. The recipient of the Benario award must submit an itemized budget of program cost at the time of application. This award is named in honor of Herbert and Janice Benario of Emory University. 

To be eligible for a Semple, Grant, or Benario Award, one must be a current member of CAMWS who either:

  • holds a teaching position in Greek or Latin in an elementary or secondary school within CAMWS territory (; or
  • is enrolled as a graduate student in a degree-granting Classics program within CAMWS territory (

CAMWS members teaching at or students at a school outside CAMWS territory are eligible to apply for these awards if their schools are current institutional members of CAMWS ( 

Priority for the Benario Award will be given to applicants interested in summer programs other than those of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and the American Academy in Rome, which are normally funded by the Semple and Grant Awards. Many other programs can be funded with this award. Here is a list of programs which the Benario grant has supported in the past.

An individual who wins a Semple Award or a Grant Award may not receive a Benario Award in the same year.

Please note that an individual cannot accept this award from CAMWS if he or she receives another award or scholarship for this summer travel and the combined amount of these awards would be more than the cost of the program and airfare.

The recipient of a Semple, Grant or Benario Award cannot also receive the CAMWS Excavation/Fieldschool Award in the same year.

On-line Application Form must be received by January 15, 2019

Recipients of these awards are encouraged to accept them in person at the annual CAMWS business meeting and are expected to submit a written, illustrated report for the CAMWS Newsletter.

Questions regarding the application may be directed to the chair of the Semple, Grant and Benario Subcommittee at

2018 Winners

  • Semple Award: Christopher Wood (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Grant Award: Lindsey Hullinger (University of Massachusetts at Amherst)
  • Benario Award: Gabrielle Bouzigard (University of Texas at Austin)

Previous Recipients

Subcommittee on the Semple, Grant, and Benario Travel Awards

Promotional Flyer